They take care of you

I almost wrote a post complaining how slow Japanese service is after spending quite some time in the food queues at universal studios. But just a few hours later, discovered how their supposed slowness is really a representation of how sincere their service culture is. And that I was just being an impatient kiasu Singaporean at heart.

I had flown into Japan with a cold, exacerbated by the red eye flight and chilly winds of Osaka. With tired bodies, the husband and I jumped upon the massage service available at the hotel, with prices comparable to the Kenko’s back home. My masseuse was a wonderful lady who took great care to knead out my kinks. Noting my sniffly nose, she stopped several times to hand me tissues and held out a bin for me to throw them in. She also walked out several times – first to bring in a heated padding to keep me warm and then with some essential oils for me to smell and clear my stuffy nose.

Before I left for the night, she also handed me a herbal tea bag for me to brew, so that I can sleep better that night. I wish I could have given a tip but I know that it would be regarded as an insult rather than reward in this culture. They take pride in knowing that they have done something good for others and that was good enough for them.

Leave a comment